Tags

, ,

I was eleven. The French class teacher asked for a volunteer to act out a scene we had been requested to learn by heart the week before. I raised my hand and played the scene extracted from L’avare de Molière: ‘Oh Voleur, oh voleur, à l’assassin. Ma cassette on m’a volé ma cassette….’ I have kept this somewhere in the back of my mind.

And I went to drama tonight, almost 30 years later.

Well….

It was not exactly what I was expected. I am not a star anymore….

I am the oldest (by far).

All my classmates have previous acting experience, most of them have qualifications in drama.

All of them are looking for a job in acting.

I am the only one for which English is not a native language.

We did some improvisation, play a scene with groups of 3 and read a script.

At the end of the class I was exhausted. Nobody talked to me. Only one guy came to me and started to speak very slowly using his hands as if he was lost in the middle of the jungle he had to make himself understood by a pygme.

I guess I am a bit disappointed. I did not imagine how difficult it would be to act in a language that is not my mother tongue. Blue Eyes did warn me though but I guess I did not listen to his wise comments.

I don’t care, I want to live my dream and I am going to drama next week. If you haven’t already [lived your dream], please do and let us know how it went.

Me & The Girls

