Tags

, ,

Now that Halloween is over, pumpkins are a bargain. And with US Thanksgiving this Thursday, there is still time to try cooking with pumpkin. A bit more challenging than my pasta carbonara.

Pumpkin is not a vegetable that we usually cook in France; therefore, I had to do a bit of research. I have tried quite a few recipes and these are my favourites:

Spicy (Bonny, 14 months loved it) Pumpkin Soup, serving 4:

  1. Mix 600g roughly diced pumpkin flesh, with one garlic clove, 1 table spoon of ground coriander, 1 table spoon cumin
  2. Boil it for 15min. in a vegetable stock (approx. 800ml).
  3. Stir it with 200ml of coconut milk/cream. I found it really good when it became a bit thicker. So my suggestion is to keep it boiling until it reaches the proper thickness
  4. Bon appetit!

Pumpkin “chips”:

I was wondering what to do with the leftover flesh from my spicy pumpkin soup so I started to thinly slice (3mm) the flesh of the pumpkin and pan fry the slices with a little bit of butter until they become brownish. And it was quite successful: Blue Eyes don’t like pumpkin at all (he is a bit of a fussy eater), gave it a try and found it good, oh yes!

Pumpkin à la mode de Tokyo

I have taken part of Junko’s recipes (Junko is a very good Japanese friend and she is currently competing in France in a food competition).

  1. Take small pumpkins, cut the top off (approx. 1/4), empty the seeds, wrap them in microwave proof plastic paper and cook them for 5 min. (I have actually skipped this part).
  2. In a bowl, mix 300ml of water with 3 soup spoon of dashi (Japanese fish stock but I am guessing that it could work with any stock (veg or chicken), 2 roughly beaten eggs and 2 teaspoons of soya sauce (I would suggest putting in a bit more soya sauce).
  3. Cut Shiitake (Japanese forest mushrooms but any mushroom will do) into thin slices.
  4. Place the mushrooms into the pumpkin, sprinkle with the mixture from the bowl/step 2.
  5. Steam the pumpkin for 15min (I did this in a pressure cooker)
  6. Enjoy!

Pumpkin Gratin

  1. Cut and preheat pumpkin as in previous recipe
  2. Pan fry 200g lardons and 1 onion, add 3 soup spoons of flour and 400ml of milk (to prepare a kind of bechamel), salt and pepper
  3. In an oven dish, place pumkin flesh and mixture from step 2, sprinkle with grated cheese (Emmenthal, Cheddar, etc.) and breadcrumbs.
  4. Bake for 15min. at 180°C

Pumpkin Pie

And of course there is the Halloween pumpkin pie suggested by Me & Little Miss A not long ago. I wanted to try the recipe but my oven has been broken for 2 months now and I am expecting my lovely landlord to change it soon. Have you tried it?

Pumpkin Puding

pumpkin 400g
milk 400cc

sugar 100-150g
eggs 4
crème fraiche 150cc

For caramel
sugar 80g
water 3 soup spoons
hot water 2 soup spoons (for finishing caramel)

Prepare your pumpkin as per Tokyo recipe and put it microwave (8min).
Mix the flesh with milk and sugar, then with eggs and crème fraiche.
Place in small oven proof dishes and bake in the oven for 40min. at 170°C.
(don’t forget with hot water for the steam cook). Once cooked cover with caramel.

After all these recipes I’m guessing you won’t be able to look at or eat another pumpkin until next Halloween!

Me & The Girls

