Tags

, ,

The Oxford Street Christmas Lights have been switched on and so the countdown begins – it’s time to get ready for Christmas!

I get so exciting about Christmas. I love seeing the children getting more and more excited each day with the anticipation of it all. I feel I go back to my own childhood: picking out the tree, getting all my decorations down from the attic, buying presents and wrapping them (and unwrapping them) and also seeing all the presents under the tree when I wake up on the 25th.

So I’m already planning my next few weeks, to make sure we take full advantage of the festive season.

I’ve booked my tickets to see Snowman at Peacock Theatre in London. I’ve never seen it but we have the book and the DVD. It’s Mellow and Jed’s favorite kids DVD: the music is fantastic of course, but also the landscape and colours is so Christmassy!

For adults, Me & The Girls has recommended the Christmas Carols of the the Royal Albert Hall. She bought tickets for when her family visited London last year and said that they all loved it.

I’m also going to take my boys to the ice rink…because I also want to skate!!! I think I will try Alexandra Palace in North London.

And of course we have to go and see Santa Claus. I go every year to Selfridges Santa’s Grotto (booking essential). You board a little train to takes you through a winter wonderland journey to Santa’s Grotto. You can have your picture taken with Santa (there is no obligation to buy), and children receive a complimentary age appropriate book (when Mellow was 1 year old he received the “Snowman”). You can also try Willows Farm (see prior post) where there will be an ice rink and the highlight: meeting Santa Claus. Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park has a Christmas Market with a selection of food, drink and gifts; an ice rink, Santa’s Grotto and a circus. I went a couple of years ago when Mellow was 3 but I actually think that the circus is more suited to older kids.

For Christmas markets, I think the best one is the Southbank Christmas Market (from November 18th). It’s a nice walk along the river and has very cute little wooden chalets. Great place to do some shopping or just get into the Christmas spirit.

So start planning and get Christmassy!

Me & The Boys

