Tags

,

I was recently reminded of my father’s father when I saw these beautiful Jerusalem artichokes at the market. I remembered him telling me how weird he felt when he planted Jerusalem artichoke in his garden for the first time; a vegetable that he discovered during WWII when him and his family had nothing else to eat. At that time Jerusalem artichokes were very cheap in France and nobody fancied them.

But I digress. Here is a very simple and delicious soup that the whole family can enjoy.

Boil Jerusalem artichokes and a couple of potatoes in milk for 30 minutes; taking care that the milk does not boil over. Use a knife to make sure all the vegetables are cooked through. Mix well. Add salt and pepper to your taste. I enjoyed this soup recently with chopped walnuts and hazelnuts. Enjoy!

Me & The Girls

